200 Word Challenge – Writing

 200 Word Challenge

 

The 200 Word Challenge is an opportunity to practice writing using just the right words. 200 Words might sound like a lot, but once you get going you’ll find yourself crossing that line easily, so be careful to only say what you NEED to. 

(This whole thing is over 100 words already)

 

For Week One your challenge is to write a 200 word recount of a time you…

 

Tasted the best food you’ve ever tasted.

 

Remember! This week we have been learning about chronological order. Make sure you get the sequence of events in the right order.

 

Begin your writing here: 

It was the last day that my brother was with us until he went back to Hawkes Bay to his boarding school. This means he got to pick what he wanted as his last dinner like he always does on his last days! And so, he picked to go to Denny’s. Me, my 2 brothers, mum, nephew and niece all went to Denny’s. 

We all met up at the entrance as my brother drove in his own car. Once we all met up we went inside and booked us a table. It was quite full too. We got seated down and had a menu where we all chose what we wanted to have for dinner. My nephew and I ordered the same thing except for drinks. I chose to have spaghetti bolognese and a waffle with syrup and cream on it. It already sounded delicious.

Once our food arrived, I immediately dug in and I was in pure shock. It was just as delicious as I expected. The mince went amazingly well with the spaghetti. The spaghetti wasn’t even the regular ones that I had back at home. The sauce and seasoning was all different but I liked it. The food was astounding and it tasted gorgeous. There was also garlic bread on the side which I had with the spaghetti and once I took a bite of it…It was like I was in Heaven. I kept eating it, it was so good! I thought to myself that this was the best thing I had ever tasted.  But then it all went away and all disappeared into my stomach. I was satisfied.

 

 

Kia Ora! This is my writing task for the week. It is a recount writing about the best thing i have ever tasted. I tried to find the best words to use for this piece of writing. I hope you enjoy reading it!

 

One thought on “200 Word Challenge – Writing

  1. Hey Maraea,

    I always thoroughly enjoy reading your writing; your focus on using specific and precise words is going to pay off big time. One thing I’d really like you to work on is editing, and crafting your writing after you’ve finished writing. There are a couple parts that sound a little clunky, so one of the best ways we can make sure they don’t is to read your writing out loud – sometimes we don’t realise it’s happening when we’re writing, so it’s important to always say it back to yourself. You’ll notice them right away. Keep up the great work, and I hope to read more soon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *